Stern of the Sovereign of the Bastion

Address

Hare Island, Peter and Paul Fortress

Category

Unusual museums

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, Weekend

11:00 – 18:00

Wednesday

Closed

Timetable

Opening hours of the fortress: daily from 9.30 to 20:00
Opening hours of the exhibition halls are lost: from 11.00 to 18.00, the day off Wednesday

Entrance fee

Entrance to the fortress: free of charge. The cost of tickets for exhibitions: 200 rubles., Students and pensioners - 100 rubles

It is often referred to as St. Petersburg dungeons, but this is not entirely true. Pothern is a secret passage, located in the wall of the Peter and Paul Fortress. It starts to the left of the Peter's Gate and passes inside the wall of the Sovereign Bastion, ending in the casemate. The length of the course is about 150 meters.

Gosudarev bastion is one of the two eastern bastions of the Peter and Paul Fortress, turned towards the Neva. It was laid down on May 16, 1703, the supervision of the building of the bastion was carried out by Tsar Peter I himself, in honor of which it was called the Sovereign.

In 1717-1732, under the project of architect Domenico Trezzini with the participation of the military engineer Burchard Christoph von Minich Gosudarev bastion was rebuilt in stone. Inside were placed two-tier war casemates. In the wall of the bastion, there was a consternation, a tunnel for safe communication between the casemates, but since the fortress was never used as a defensive one, in the 19th century the Pothern was filled with earth.

In 2003, the recreated Pothern was opened to visitors. Today, exhibitions and other events are held here.

Потерна Государева бастиона

Адрес

Заячий остров, Петропавловская крепость

Категория

Необычные музеи

Понедельник, Вторник, Четверг, Пятница, Выходные дни

11:00 – 18:00

Среда

Выходной

Потерну часто относят к петербургским подземельям, но это не совсем так.  Потерна — тайный ход, расположенный в стене Петропавловской крепости.  Он начинается слева от Петровских ворот и проходит внутри стены Государева бастиона, заканчиваясь в каземате. Длина хода – около 150 метров.

Государев бастион – один из двух восточных бастионов Петропавловской крепости, обращённый в сторону Невы. Заложен 16 мая 1703 года, надзор за строительством бастиона осуществлял сам царь Пётр I, в честь которого он и получил название Государев.

В 1717—1732 годах по проекту архитектора Доменико Трезини при участии военного инженера Бурхарда Кристофа фон Миниха Государев бастион перестроили в камне. Внутри размещались двухъярусные боевые казематы. В стене бастиона была устроена потерна — туннель для безопасного сообщения между казематами, но поскольку крепость никогда не использовалась как оборонительная, ещё в XIX веке потерна была засыпана землей.

В 2003 году воссозданная потерна была открыта для посещения. Сегодня здесь проводятся выставки.