Monument

Monument to M. Yu. Lermontov

Address

Lermontovsky pr., 54

Category

Monuments

Daily

Opened in

22 May 1916

Sculptor

B.M. Mikeshin

The height of the monument

3,8m

The height of the figure

1,75m

The monument to M. Yu. Lermontov was opened on May 22, 1916 on Novo-Peterhof Avenue in front of the building of the Nikolaev Cavalry School, where the poet studied. The author of the monument is the artist and sculptor Boris Mikeshin.

The initiative to erect a monument to Lermontov in St. Petersburg was made in 1907 by the head of the Nikolaev cavalry school, Major General L.V. De Witt. Funds for its construction were collected by subscription among college graduates, individuals and government agencies.

The ceremony of laying the monument took place on October 1, 1913. A little later, a life-size model was made, which was installed on the site of the future monument.

Boris Mikeshin depicted Lermontov in military uniform sitting in an armchair. An overcoat is draped over his shoulder. On a pedestal of red polished granite there is a bronze bas-relief with armor, a lyre and a wreath. Below it is an inscription in overhead letters: “M. Yu. / Lermontov / 1814-1841 ". Below is the bronze face of a lion. On the reverse side of the pedestal, Lermontov's main works are listed: "Demon", "Angel", "Borodino", "Hero of Our Time", "Song about the merchant Kalashnikov", "Prophet", "Fatherland", "Valerik", "Mtsyri", "Dispute". From the pedestal to the sides, two granite benches extend in a semicircle, ending with pedestals with bronze lamps on lion paws.

It was supposed to open the monument on October 1, 1914, on the eve of the 100th anniversary of the poet's birth, but the First World War prevented it. As a result, the monument was opened on May 9, 1916, on the eve of the 75th anniversary of the poet's death. In the same year, Novo-Peterhof Avenue was renamed into Lermontovsky.

Памятник

Памятник М. Ю. Лермонтову

Адрес

Лермонтовский пр., 54

Категория

Памятники

Ежедневно

Дата открытия

22 мая 1916 г.

Скульптор / Архитектор

Б.М. Микешин

Высота памятника

3,8 м

Высота фигуры

1,75 м

Памятник М. Ю. Лермонтову был открыт (9) 22 мая 1916 года на Ново-Петергофском проспекте перед зданием Николаевского кавалерийского училища, где учился поэт. Автор монумента — художник и скульптор Борис Микешин.

С инициативой об установке памятника Лермонтову в Петербурге выступил в 1907 году начальник Николаевского кавалерийского училища генерал-майор Л.В. Де-Витт. Средства на его сооружение собирали по подписке среди выпускников училища, частных лиц и правительственных учреждений.

Церемония закладки памятника состоялась 1 октября 1913 года. Чуть позже был изготовлен макет в натуральную величину, который установили на месте будущего монумента.

Борис Микешин изобразил Лермонтова в военной форме сидящим в кресле. На плечо накинута шинель. На пьедестале из красного полированного гранита — бронзовый барельеф с доспехами, лирой и венком. Под ним — надпись накладными буквами: «М. Ю. / Лермонтову / 1814—1841». Ниже — бронзовая морда льва. На обратной стороне пьедестала перечислены основные произведения Лермонтова: «Демон», «Ангел», «Бородино», «Герой нашего времени», «Песня про купца Калашникова», «Пророк», «Отчизна», «Валерик», «Мцыри», «Спор». От пьедестала в стороны отходят полукругом две гранитные скамьи, завершающиеся тумбами с бронзовыми светильниками на львиных лапах.

Открыть памятник предполагалось 1 октября 1914 года, в канун 100-летия со дня рождения поэта, но помешала Первая мировая война. В итоге памятник был открыт 9 мая 1916 года, в канун 75-летия со дня смерти поэта. В том же году Ново-Петергофский проспект был переименован в Лермонтовский.