Monument

Monument to Alfred Nobel

Address

Petrogradskaya emb., 24

Category

Monuments

Opened in

October 21, 1991

Sculptor

BY. Shevchenko, S.Yu. Alipov / V.N. Zhuykov

Height

4.6 meters

The dynasty of Nobel industrialists left a notable mark in the Russian economy. Military equipment, steam engines, metal structures, machine tools were produced in their factories, starting from 1838. From all of the dynasty, Alfred Nobel was especially famous, he owns an invention of dynamite.

Nobel has accumulated a huge fortune, which he wished to use in an unusual way. He established a prize, which should be given to scientists for outstanding discoveries. The first Nobel Prize was awarded in 1901.

90 years later on the initiative of the Nobel Foundation and the International Fund of the History of Science in St. Petersburg a monument to Alfred Nobel was built. The Nobel family that arrived from Stockholm in 1842 settled here, at the Petrogradskaya Embankment, 24.

The composition of the sculpture depicts a fantastic tree of life with twisted branches after the explosion. The explosion is peaceful, the dove in composition shows it. There is an inscription with the surname of the scientist and years of his life: 1833-1896 on the granite pedestal.

Памятник

Памятник Альфреду Нобелю

http://www.ipetersburg.ru/pamyatnik-alfredu-nobelyu/
Адрес
Петроградская наб., 24
Категория
Памятники
Дата открытия
21 октября 1991 года
Скульптор / Архитектор
П.О. Шевченко, С.Ю. Алипов / В.Н. Жуйков
Высота памятника
4,6 метра

Династия промышленников Нобелей оставила заметный след в экономике России. На их заводах, начиная с 1838 года, изготавливалось военное оборудование, паровые двигатели, металлические конструкции, станки. Из всей династии особенно прославился Альфред Нобель, которому принадлежит изобретение динамита.

Нобель накопил огромное состояние, которым пожелал распорядиться необычным способом — учредил премию, которая должна выдаваться ученым за выдающиеся открытия. Первая Нобелевская премия была вручена в 1901 году.

90 лет спустя по инициативе Нобелевского фонда и Международного фонда истории науки в Санкт-Петербурге был установлен памятник Альфреду Нобелю.  Здесь, на Петроградской набережной, 24, поселилась, приехав из Стокгольма в 1842 году, семья Нобелей.

Скульптурная композиция изображает фантастическое древо жизни с искореженными ветками после взрыва. Взрыв этот — мирный, о чем говорит венчающий композицию голубь. На гранитном постаменте выбита надпись с фамилией ученого и годами жизни: 1833–1896.