Famous building

The mansion of Princess Zinaida Yusupova

Address

Liteiny Ave, 42

Category

Famous buildings

Years of foundation

1852–1858

Architects

L.L. Bonstedt

Style

neo-baroque

«Liteiny House» of Princess Zinaida Yusupova was built in 1852-1858 in the style of the Italian Renaissance with the use of elements of baroque. The building is completely lined with sandstone, caryatids at the front entrance are made of the same stone. The facade is decorated with columns and pilasters. The interior of the palace was decorated with lavish decor, many plafonds and medallions were made by the artist N.A. Maikov. The library, portrait and concert halls are especially beautiful.

There was a house church in the building, where the princess married a French patrial, Count de Showau. She died in 1893 in France, bequeathed the «Liteiny House» to her great-grandson - Count Felix Yusupov, who was then famous as a participant in the murder of Grigory Rasputin.

In St. Petersburg city folklore there is a legend that Yusupova's mansion served Pushkin as the prototype of the house of the Queen of Spades, although this is impossible since the house was built 20 years after the poet's death.

In 1908 the building was leased to the Theater Club at the Union of Drama and Music Writers, here was the theater of the parody "The Curved Mirror".

After 1917, there was the Polish House of Education named after Yu. Makhlevsky, since 1934 the House of Political Enlightenment, since 1950 the society "Knowledge". Today the building is the Institute of Foreign Economic Relations, Economics, and Law.

Достопримечательность

Особняк княгини Зинаиды Юсуповой

ILYA BYKOV, wikimedia.org
Адрес
Литейный пр., 42
Год постройки
1852–1858 годы
Архитектор
Л.Л. Бонштедт
Стиль
необарокко

«Литейный дом» княгини Зинаиды Юсуповой был построен в 1852–1858 годах в стиле  итальянского Возрождения с использованием элементов барокко. Здание полностью облицовано песчаником, из того же камня сделаны и кариатиды у парадного входа. Фасад украшают колонны и пилястры. Пышно оформлены и интерьеры дворца, многие плафоны и медальоны выполнены художником Н.А. Майковым. Особенно красивы библиотека, портретный и концертный залы.

В здании располагалась домовая церковь, где княгиня обвенчалась с французским подданным, графом де Шово. Умерла она в 1893 году во Франции, завещав «Литейный дом» своему правнуку — графу Феликсу Юсупову, который затем прославился как участник убийства Григория Распутина.

В петербургском городском фольклоре существует легенда, что особняк Юсуповой послужил Пушкину прообразом дома Пиковой дамы, хотя это невозможно, так как дом был построен через 20 лет после смерти поэта.

В 1908 году здание было отдано в аренду Театральному клубу при Союзе драматических и музыкальных писателей, здесь располагался театр пародии «Кривое зеркало».

После 1917 года  здесь был Польский дом просвещения имени Ю.Ю. Махлевского, с 1934 года — Дом политического просвещения, с 1950 года общество «Знание». Сегодня в здании находится Институт внешнеэкономических связей, экономики и права.

Культурная столица приглашает в гости!
Многодневные туры и речные круизы в Санкт-Петербург
Заказать