Famous building

Ligovsky People's House (House of Panina)

Address

Tambovskaya st., 63 / Prilukskaya st.., 24

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1901–1903

Architects

Yu. Yu., Benoit

Style

Modern

Panina's People's House (Ligovsky People's House) was built in 1901–1903 at the expense of Countess Sophia Panina. The Art Nouveau building designed by the architect Julius Benois is located at the corner of Tambovskaya and Prilukskaya streets, behind Ligovka - in the dirtiest and most hectic district of St. Petersburg. The People's House was intended for workers and their families.

The main advantage of the building is a theater hall with 1000 seats. On the basis of the troupe of the Public Theater at the People's House, the First Mobile Drama Theater was created, which existed from 1905 to 1928. The founders of the theater are director Pavel Gaideburov and Nadezhda Skarskaya (sister of Vera Fedorovna Komissarzhevskaya).

In the main building of the People's House, in addition to the theater, there were: a reading room, classrooms for classes, a free canteen, a tea room for the poor and a cheap one for those who are able to pay 5–10 cents for lunch. In the basement, workshops were equipped: locksmiths for boys, and for girls - for teaching sewing and bookbinding.

The tower houses the first public observatory in St. Petersburg. It accommodated twenty-five people. The initiator of the creation of the observatory and its first head was the teacher of physics and cosmography A.G. Jacobson. Visitors to the observatory observed Jupiter, Venus, mountains on the lunar surface, and all were recorded in a special journal.

In Soviet times, the Palace of Culture of Railway Workers was opened in this building. Here, during the years of perestroika (restructuring), rock bands that were still semi-legal back then and famous today often performed here with concerts: Aquarium, Alisa, DDT and others. Today the house has been restored, its historical appearance has been restored as well. In 2011, the St. Petersburg Drama Theater, which bears the name of Sofia Vladimirovna Panina, began its work here.

Достопримечательность

Лиговский народный дом (Дом Паниной)

Адрес
Тамбовская ул., 63 / Прилукская ул., 24
Ежедневно
Год постройки
1901–1903
Архитектор
Ю.Ю, Бенуа
Стиль
Модерн

Народный дом Паниной (Лиговский народный дом) был построен в 1901–1903 гг. на средства графини Софьи Паниной. Здание в стиле модерн по проекту архитектора Юлия Бенуа расположилось на углу Тамбовской и Прилукской улиц, за Лиговкой — в грязнейшем и беспокойнейшем районе Петербурга. Народный дом предназначался для рабочих и их семей.

Главным достоинством здания стал театральный зал на 1000 мест. На основе труппы Общедоступного театра при Народном доме был создан Первый передвижной драматический театр, просуществовавший с 1905 по 1928 год. Создатели театра — режиссер Павел Гайдебуров и Надежда Скарская (сестра Веры Федоровны Комиссаржевской).

В главном здании Народного дома, кроме театра, были: читальня, классы для занятий, бесплатная столовая, чайная для неимущих и дешевая – для тех, кто в состоянии заплатить за обед 5–10 копеек. В цокольном этаже были оборудованы мастерские: слесарные для мальчиков, а для девочек – по обучению шитью и переплетному искусству.

В башне расположилась первая народная обсерватория в Петербурге. Она вмещала двадцать пять человек. Инициатором создания обсерватории и первым ее заведующим был преподаватель физики и космографии А.Г. Якобсон. Посетители обсерватории наблюдали Юпитер, Венеру, горы на поверхности Луны, и все заносили в специальный журнал.

В советское время в этом здании открылся Дворец культуры Железнодорожников. Здесь в годы перестройки часто выступали с концертами тогда еще полулегальные, а сегодня – знаменитые рок-группы: «Аквариум», «Алиса», ДДТ и другие. Сегодня дом отреставрирован, восстановлен его исторический облик. В 2011 году здесь начал работу Санкт-Петербургский драматический театр, который носит имя Софьи Владимировны Паниной.

Культурная столица приглашает в гости!
Многодневные туры и речные круизы в Санкт-Петербург
Заказать