Church

Cathedral of the Elevation of the Holy Cross

Address

Ligovsky ave., 128

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1747

Architect

the author of the project is unknown

Style

baroque

Active Orthodox church

The Cossack Cathedral of the Elevation of the Holy Cross is located at the intersection of the Ligovsky Prospekt and Obvodny Canal.  This cathedral is called Cossack because it unites the Cossacks who live in St. Petersburg.  The church complex consists of three buildings: the Cathedral of the Elevation of the Holy Cross, the Church of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God, and the Church of Cyril and Methodius (located in the bell tower).

Currently, only the Tikhvin Church is active. Since 2008, restoration works on the whole architectural complex are underway: the bell tower has been restored, the cupolas have been gilded. In 2014, the restoration works on the roof of the cathedral started.

The history of the church complex began with a small wooden church built in 1719 at the request of coachmen, the residents of Yamskaya Sloboda. In 1730, the church almost completely burnt down and a new one was built there in honor of the Prophet Elijah. People called it "the Yamskaya church". In 1747-1749, the stone church of the Elevation of the Holy Cross was founded on the same site by the project of the architect I. Ya. Schumacher.

In 1848-1851, the church was expanded and redesigned by the architect E.I. Dimmert, who was a student of V.P. Stasov. It was originally intended to build a new church in Greek style, but the project turned out to be an expensive one, and it was decided to rebuild the existing construction. Crowned with five polyhedral cupolas and decorated with pilasters, the church resembled church buildings of the Baroque era of the XVIII century.

In 1991, the church was transferred to the Orthodox parish, which united St. Petersburg’s Cossacks. Today it is the main church of the Cossack community in St. Petersburg.

Храм

Крестовоздвиженский собор

Адрес
Лиговский проспект, 128
Категория
Храмы
Ежедневно
Год постройки
1747
Архитектор
автор проекта неизвестен
Стиль
барокко

Крестовоздвиженский казачий собор расположен на пересечении Лиговского проспекта и Обводного канала. Собор называется казачьим, потому что объединяет казаков, живущих в Петербурге. В храмовый комплекс входят три здания: Крестовоздвиженский собор, Церковь во имя Тихвинской иконы Божией Матери, Церковь Кирилла и Мефодия (расположена в колокольне).

В настоящее время действующей является только Тихвинская церковь. С 2008 года идет реставрация всего архитектурного комплекса: отреставрирована колокольня, позолочены купола, в 2014 году начались работы по реставрации кровли собора.

История храмового комплекса начиналась с небольшой деревянной церкви, построенной в 1719 году по прошению ямщиков — жителей Ямской слободы. В 1730 году церковь практически полностью сгорела, и на ее месте построили новую — в честь пророка Илии, в народе она называлась «Ямской». А в 1747-1749 годах на том же месте возвели каменную церковь Воздвижения Животворящего Креста Господня по проекту архитектора И. Я. Шумахера.

В 1848-1851 годы храм был расширен и переделан по проекту архитектора Е. И. Диммерта, ученика В. П. Стасова. Первоначально задумывалось построить новую церковь «в греческом стиле», однако проект оказался слушком дорогим, и пришлось перестраивать уже существующее здание. Увенчанный пятью многогранными куполами, украшенный пилястрами, храм внешне напоминал церковные постройки эпохи барокко XVIII века.

В 1991 году храм был передан православному приходу, объединившему петербургское казачество. Сегодня это главный храм казачьего землячества в Петербурге.

Индивидуальные экскурсии по городу и пригородам на автомобиле и минивэне
Петербург для тех, кто ценит комфорт и внимание
Заказать