Famous building

Cross-community of sisters of mercy

Address

Fontanka Emb., 154

Category

Famous buildings

Years of foundation

1892–1904

Architects

Yu.Yu. Benoît

Style

neo-Russian

Since the beginning of the XIX century a mansion of the timber merchant Zherbina housed here. Later the house was purchased by Dr. L.F. Dost, who organized an orthopedic medical institution in it, and in 1859 the building moved to the Cross-Exaltation Community of Sisters of Mercy. With the community, a women's free hospital for the poor was opened, a clinic for incoming patients, a free school for girls and a day nursery.

The building in the Neo-Russian style was built according to Yu.Yu. Benois in the early 1890s. He rebuilt the house many times, and by 1904, it had acquired its final appearance.

During the last reconstruction of the building on the third floor, a church was built with a carved oak iconostasis and belfry. On December 11, 1904, Metropolitan Anthony of St. Petersburg and Ladoga consecrated the church in the name of the Exaltation of the Cross of the Lord. September 28, 1922, the temple was closed. The drum above and the dome with the cross were demolished.

On the site of the Krestovozdvizhenskaya community of nurses in 1918, the 10th Hospital of the Petrograd Provincial Health Department was opened. In 1919, the hospital was given the name of the revolutionary G.I. Chudnovsky, which was there until 2002. Now the St. Petersburg multidisciplinary center is here.

To the left of the community building there is a small, almost "toy" chapel in the Neo-Russian style. It is the chapel of the Exaltation of the Cross of the Lord and the Holy Equal-to-the-Apostles Queen Helena. In the Soviet years, it was used for household needs. Since 2013, regular worship services are performed there.

Достопримечательность

Крестовоздвиженская община сестёр милосердия

Екатерина Борисова, wikimedia.org
Адрес
наб. р. Фонтанки, 154
Год постройки
1892–1904 годы
Архитектор
Ю.Ю. Бенуа
Стиль
псевдорусский

С начала XIX века здесь располагался особняк лесоторговца Жербина. Позднее дом приобрел доктор Л.Ф. Дост, который организовал в нём Ортопедическое лечебное заведение, а в 1859 году здание перешло к Крестовоздвиженской общине сестёр милосердия. При общине были открыты женская бесплатная больница для бедных, лечебница для приходящих больных, бесплатная школа для девочек и ясли.

Здание в неорусском стиле построено по проекту Ю.Ю. Бенуа в начале 1890-х годов. Он много раз перестраивал дом, и наконец,  к 1904 году он приобрел свой окончательный облик.

Во время последней перестройки здания на третьем этаже была устроена церковь человек с резным дубовым иконостасом и звонницей. 11 декабря 1904 года митрополит Санкт-Петербургский и Ладожский Антоний  освятил церковь во имя Воздвижения Креста Господня. 28 сентября 1922 года храм закрыли. Возвышавшиеся над зданием барабан и куполом с крестом были снесены.

На месте Крестовоздвиженской общины сестёр милосердия в 1918 году открылась 10-я больница Петроградского губернского отдела здравоохранения. В 1919 году больнице было присвоено имя революционера Г.И. Чудновского, которое она носила до 2002 года. Сейчас здесь находится Санкт-Петербургский многопрофильный центр.

Слева к зданию общины примыкает маленькая, почти «игрушечная» часовня в неорусском стиле. Это часовня Воздвижения Креста Господня и святой равноапостольной царицы Елены. В советские годы она использовалась для хозяйственных нужд. С 2013 года в ней совершаются регулярные богослужения.

Культурная столица приглашает в гости!
Многодневные туры и речные круизы в Санкт-Петербург
Заказать