Famous building

«Red Triangle»

Address

Obvodny Canal emb., 134–138

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1860s – 1910s

Architects

R.R. von Heinrichsen, R.A. Gedike, O.O. von Witte, E.G. Yurgens, E.I. Gelman

Style

Brick

The Red Triangle is one of the oldest industrial enterprises in St. Petersburg. The birthday of the enterprise is considered (11) March 23, 1960, when Emperor Alexander II approved the charter of the Russian-American Rubber Manufactory Partnership.

The partnership was created by a merchant from Hamburg, Ferdinand Krauskopf. Having arrived in Russia a year earlier, he quickly realized that the sale of rubber products in Russia promises huge profits. And it was not only the famous galoshes. The rapidly developing Russian industry was in dire need of pumping hoses, pulley belts and pipes, conveyor and conveyor belts, and the consumer market for galoshes seemed to be completely limitless. Finding companions among Russian merchants, Krauskopf founded the "Russian-American Manufactory Partnership" and opened the first rubber factory in Russia.

The architectural complex of the Russian-American rubber manufactory "Triangle" was formed during the 1860s – 1910s. Among its authors are such famous Petersburg architects as R.R. Henrikhsen, R.A. Gedicke, E.G. Yurgens, E.I. Gelman, O.O. von Witte.

On the territory of the enterprise, a special architectural environment has formed with internal streets, pipes, metal staircases, and passages. The factory also influenced the creation of the social infrastructure of the nearby area - dwelling houses for workers, a nursery and a school, a hospital, a club, and shops were built nearby. There are about 80 buildings in total.

In the 1890s, a wooden pedestrian bridge was thrown across the Obvodny Canal to the factory entrance. It was named Borisov Bridge in honor of the merchant Ivan Alekseevich Borisov, who owned two houses on the right bank of the Obvodny Canal and built the crossing at his own expense. The modern metal Borisov Bridge was built in 1988-1990.

As for the plant, in 1918, after nationalization, it was renamed into the "Red Triangle" and worked until the beginning of the XXI century. Currently, there are various projects of redevelopment of the territory of this striking monument of industrial architecture of St. Petersburg.

Достопримечательность

«Красный треугольник»

Адрес

наб. Обводного канала, 134–138

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1860-е – 1910-е

Архитектор

Р.Р. фон Генрихсен, Р.А. Гедике, О.О. фон Витте, Э.Г. Юргенс Е.И. Гельман

Стиль

Кирпичный

«Красный треугольник» — одно из старейших промышленных предприятий Санкт-Петербурга». Днем рождения предприятия считается (11) 23 марта 1960 года, когда император Александр II утвердил устав Товарищества Российско-Американской резиновой мануфактуры.

Товарищество создал коммерсант из Гамбурга Фердинанд Краузкопф. Приехав в Россию годом раньше, он быстро понял, что продажа изделий из резины в России сулит огромные прибыли. И дело было не только в знаменитых галошах. Бурно развивающая российская промышленность остро нуждалась в насосных рукавах, шкивных ремнях и трубах, в транспортерной и конвейерной ленте, а рынок потребителей галош представлялся и вовсе безграничным. Найдя компаньонов среди российских купцов, Краузкопф основал «Товарищество Российско-Американской мануфактуры» и открыл первую резиновую фабрику в России.

Архитектурный комплекс Российско-американской резиновой мануфактуры «Треугольник» формировался в течение 1860-х–1910-х годов. В числе его авторов — такие известные петербургские архитекторы, как Р.Р. Генрихсен, Р.А. Гедике, Э.Г. Юргенс, Е.И. Гельман, О.О. фон Витте.

На территории предприятия образовалась особая архитектурная среда с внутренними улицами, трубами, металлическими лестницами, переходами. Фабрика оказала влияние и на создание социальной инфраструктуры близлежащего района – неподалеку были построены жилые дома для рабочих, детские ясли и школа, больница, клуб, магазины. Всего — около 80 корпусов.

В 1890-х годах к проходной завода через Обводный канал был перекинут деревянный пешеходный мост. Его назвали Борисов мост в честь купца Ивана Алексеевича Борисова, который владел двумя домами на правом берегу Обводного канала и построил переправу за собственный счет. Современный металлический Борисов мост был сооружен в 1988–1990 годах.

Что касается завода, то 1918 году, после национализации, он был переименован в «Красный треугольник» и проработал до начала XXI века. В настоящее время существуют различные проекты редевелопмента территории этого яркого памятника промышленной архитектуры Санкт-Петербурга.