Музей

Italian Palace

Address

Makarovskaya st., 3

Monday, Tuesday

Closed

Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Weekend

11:00 – 18:00

Timetable

Museum of A.S. Popova is open from 11:00 to 18:00. Days off: monday, tuesday

Years of foundation

1720–1724

Architects

I.F. Braunstein

Style

Petrin baroque

The Italian Palace is one of the oldest buildings in Kronstadt. It was erected in the years 1720-1724 by the project of architect I.F. Braunstein in the style of Peter's Baroque.

The name Italian Palace, according to one of the hypotheses, is due to the fact that Italian masters participated in its construction. According to another version, the building was nicknamed for external resemblance to the Italian palaces: it is known that the Germans were the architect and builders. There also existed the popular name of the Menshikov Palace - as a reminder of the wooden palace of the governor-general of St. Petersburg, Prince A.D. Menshikov.

In the same years, in front of the palace, an Italian pond was built by the architect Giovanni Fontana. Since 1815, there was the final stop of the first regular shipping route to Kronstadt - the so-called "passenger", built at the plant of Charles Byrd in St. Petersburg. It was the first passenger line in Russia. From the Italian pond flows Obvodny channel.

The Italian Palace was rebuilt many times, it has changed beyond recognition and today has little in common, both with Italian architecture and with Peter’s baroque. The largest reconstruction took place in the middle of the XIX century, when the building was once again rebuilt according to the project of the architect A.N. Akutin

From 1771 the Sea Cadet Corps were located in the palace. In 1798, the palace was transferred to the Shturman School, then the Naval Technical School and the Naval Engineering School of Emperor Nicholas I. In the Soviet and post-Soviet years the building was occupied by the Red Army and Navy House, the Officers' Club, the Baltic Fleet Theater and other Navy institutions.

On December 1, 2011, the palace was transferred to the branch of the Kronstadt Fortress Naval Museum, where the museum will open after the renovation of the building. The A.S. Popov, inventor of the radio, Memorial Museum is already working on the 1st floor. Popov, inventor of the radio. It was here, in Kronstadt, in 1895 the first radio receiver in the world was created.

A monument to the researcher of Novaya Zemlya, P.K. Pakhtusov, stands in front of the palace.

Музей

Итальянский дворец

Адрес

г. Кронштадт, Макаровская ул., 3

Понедельник, Вторник

Выходной

Среда, Четверг, Пятница, Выходные дни

11:00 – 18:00

Стоимость билетов

Музей А.С. Попова: взрослые – 200 руб., льготные – 100 руб., экспозиция «Кронштадтская крепость» и выставки (2-3 этажи): взрослые – 300 руб., льготные – 200 руб

Итальянский дворец — одно из старейших зданий Кронштадта. Он был возведен в 1720–1724 годах по проекту архитектора И.Ф. Браунштейна в стиле петровское барокко.

Название Итальянский дворец, по одной из гипотез, связано с тем, что в его строительстве участвовали итальянские мастера. По другой версии, здание прозвали так за внешнее сходство с итальянскими дворцами: известно, что архитектором и строителями были немцы. Также существовало народное название Меншиковский дворец — как воспоминание о стоявшем прежде на этом месте деревянном дворце генерал-губернатора Санкт-Петербурга князя А.Д. Меншикова.

В те же годы напротив дворца по проекту архитектора Джованни Фонтана был устроен Итальянский пруд. С 1815 года здесь была конечная остановка первого регулярного пароходного маршрута в Кронштадт — так называемых «пассажботов», построенных на заводе Чарльза Берда в Петербурге. Это была первая в России пассажирская линия. Из Итальянского пруда вытекает Обводный канал.

Итальянский дворец много раз перестраивался, он изменился до неузнаваемости и сегодня имеет мало общего, как с итальянской архитектурой, так и с петровским барокко. Самая крупная реконструкция имела место в середине XIX века, когда  здание было в очередной раз перестроено по проекту архитектора А.Н. Акутина.

С 1771 года во дворце располагался Морской кадетский корпус. В 1798 году дворец был передан Штурманскому училищу, затем — Техническое училище морского ведомства и Морское инженерное училище императора Николая I. В советские и постсоветские годы здание занимали Дом Красной Армии и Флота, Дом офицеров, театр Балтийского Флота и другие учреждения ВМФ.

1 декабря 2011 года дворец передан филиалу Центрального военно-морского музея «Кронштадтская крепость», где после ремонта здания открылся музей. На 1 этаже работает мемориальный музей А.С. Попова, изобретателя радио. Именно здесь, в Кронштадте, в 1895 году был создан первый в мире радиоприемник. Еще один интересный музей, расположившийся во дворце, — Герметаж Архив, посвященный современной алхимии и герметическому искусству.

Посетить музей с экскурсионным обслуживанием или без него можно по билетам в ЦВММ.

Перед входом во дворец установлен памятник исследователю Новой Земли П.К. Пахтусову.