Church

John the Theological Church

Address

Nekrasova st., 31

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1894

Architect

N.N. Nikonov

Style

Neorussian

The compound of the Leushinsky St. John the Baptist convent of the Novgorod diocese was founded in St. Petersburg with the blessing of John of Kronstadt. In 1891, the site for it was acquired by the abbess of Leushinsky John the Baptist Monastery, Igumeniya Taisiya. The architectural design of the Compound was made by the architect Nikolai Nikonov, a famous master of the Russian-Byzantine style.

The three-story courtyard building is decorated in a decorative Neo-Russian style, in the spirit of the ancient Yaroslavl temples of the 17th century and is decorated with colorful ceramics. On the first floor there was a chapel, on the second - the abbess’s apartment, cells and the refectory, on the upper - a three-altered church for 1000 people.

The main church in the name of John the Theologian was consecrated on November 21, 1894 by Bishop Nikander of Narva. The consecration of the side chapel in the name of the Great Martyr Barbara took place on December 11, 1894. It was performed by the Archbishop of Novgorod and Starorussk Theognost. Third throne - sv. John of Kronstadt remained not consecrated until 1917 in anticipation of the canonization of Fr. John.

The icons were partly painted by the sisters of the monastery, educated at the Academy of Arts, some of the icons were donated. A three-tier iconostasis from a pear tree was carved by a craftsman from Pereslavl Zalessky. In 1908, a temple icon ordered from the courtyard was brought from Patmos Island. To date, murals in the dome of the temple have been preserved.

The facade of Leushinsky Compound, included in the continuous development of ul. Nekrasov stands out in her thanks to the diverse and sophisticated scenery in the neo-Russian style. Of particular interest are the curly platbands of the windows of the third floor of the church, which end with multi-blade decorative arches. The same motif, only larger, is repeated in the crowning kokoshnik of the temple. The three-story building is crowned with a dome on a cylindrical drum.

On June 11, 1931, the compound was closed. On February 18, 1932, the last Leushin nuns were arrested and sentenced to various terms of camps and deportation to Central Asia. In January 1938, the last rector of the Fr. Fedor Okunev.

The courtyard building was adapted for a residential building. After the war, a regional neuropsychiatric dispensary with medical and labor workshops entered the building.

The Temple of Leushinsky Compound was returned to the Church in July 2000. The shrines of the Leushinsky monastery, flooded by the waters of the Rybinsk reservoir in 1941-1946, returned to the temple. One of the main shrines is the remote Cross with the relics of St. John the Baptist. In August 2004, the image of the Mother of God “I am with you and no one else” appeared on the pediment of the church from the side of Ozerny Lane. In August 2007, the entire complex of Leushinsky Compound was transferred to the Church of St. John the Evangelist.

The church is open daily from 9.00 to 18.00.

Храм

Иоанно-Богословская церковь

Адрес

ул. Некрасова, 31

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1894

Архитектор

Н.Н. Никонов

Стиль

псевдорусский

Подворье Леушинского Иоанно-Предтеченского женского монастыря Новгородской епархии было основано в Санкт-Петербурге по благословению Иоанна Кронштадтского. В 1891 году участок для него был приобретен настоятельницей Леушинского Иоанно-Предтеченского монастыря игуменией Таисией. Архитектурный проект Подворья составил архитектор Николай Никонов — известный мастер русско-византийского стиля.

Трехэтажное здание подворья выдержано в декоративном неорусском стиле, в духе древних ярославских храмов XVII века и украшено разноцветной керамикой. На первом этаже находилась часовня, на втором — квартира настоятельницы, кельи и трапезная, на верхнем — трехпрестольный храм на 1000 человек.

Главный храм во имя Иоанна Богослова был освящен 21 ноября 1894 года епископом Нарвским Никандром. Освящение бокового придела во имя великомученицы Варвары состоялось 11 декабря 1894. Его произвел архиепископ Новгородский и Старорусский Феогност. Третий престол — св. Иоанна Кронштадтского оставался не освященным до 1917 в ожидании канонизации о. Иоанна.

Иконы частью были написаны сестрами обители, получившими образование в Академии художеств, некоторые иконы были пожертвованы. Трехъярусный иконостас из грушевого дерева вырезали мастера из Переславля Залесского. В 1908 году была привезена с острова Патмос храмовая икона, заказанная подворьем. До настоящего времени сохранились росписи в куполе храма.

Фасад Леушинского подворья, включенный в сплошную застройку ул. Некрасова, выделяется в ней благодаря разнообразной и усложненной декорации в неорусском стиле. Особенно интересны фигурные наличники окон третьего этажа церкви, которые завершаются многолопастными декоративными арочками. Тот же мотив, только крупнее, повторен в венчающем кокошнике храма. Трехэтажное здание венчается куполом на цилиндрическом барабане.

11 июня 1931 подворье было закрыто. 18 февраля 1932 года последние леушинские монахини были арестованы и приговорены к различным срокам лагерей и высылке в Среднюю Азию. В январе 1938 был расстрелян последний настоятель храма-подворья о. Федор Окунев.

Здание подворья было приспособлено под жилой дом. После войны в здание въехал областной психоневрологический диспансер с лечебно-трудовыми мастерскими.

Храм Леушинского Подворья был возвращен Церкви в июле 2000 года. В храм вернулись святыни Леушинского монастыря, затопленного водами Рыбинского водохранилища в 1941-1946 годы. Одной из главных святынь является выносной Крест с мощами св. Иоанна Предтечи. В августе 2004 года на фронтоне храма со стороны Озерного переулка появился образ Божией Матери «Азъ есмь съ вами, и никтоже на вы». В августе 2007 весь комплекс Леушинского подворья был передан храму Иоанна Богослова.

Храм открыт ежедневно с 9.00 до 18.00.