Church

Temple of the Epiphany on Gutuevsky Island

Address

Dvinskaya st., 2

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1899

Architect

V.A. Kosyakov

Style

Pseudorussian

The red-brick church in the pseudo-Russian style on Gutuevsky Island is a functioning church of the Epiphany, built in 1899 by the architect V.A. Kosyakov.

The temple was erected in memory of the miraculous rescue of Tsarevich Nikolai Alexandrovich after the assassination attempt that happened on May 11(April 29), 1891 during the trip of the Tsarevich through the city of Otsu in Japan. The heir to the throne (future Tsar Nicholas II) was wounded in the head by a Japanese fanatic's saber.

The church was built at the expense of the manufacturer I. A. Voronin. Exactly 8 years after the miraculous rescue of the prince, (April 29) May 11, 1899, the temple was consecrated. The ceremony was conducted by Metropolitan Anthony together with Father John of Kronstadt.

In May 1935, the church was closed and given over to a warehouse. The last rector, Archpriest Vasily Vasilyevich Medvedsky, was shot. During the war, the building was hit by a shell, and it was badly damaged by fire, the architectural decor and interior decoration were lost.

The temple was returned to believers in 1991, then restored.

Храм

Храм Богоявления на Гутуевском острове

Адрес

Двинская ул., 2

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1899

Архитектор

В.А. Косяков

Стиль

Псевдорусский

Краснокирпичный храм в псевдорусском стиле на Гутуевском острове — это действующая церковь Богоявления Господня, построенная в 1899 году по проекту архитектора В.А. Косякова.

Храм возведен в память о чудесном спасении цесаревича Николая Александровича после покушения, случившегося (29 апреля) 11 мая 1891 года во время проезда цесаревича через город Оцу в Японии. Наследник престола (будущий царь Николай II) был ранен в голову саблей японского фанатика.

Церковь возвели на деньги фабриканта И. А. Воронина. Ровно через 8 лет после чудесного спасения царевича, (29 апреля) 11 мая 1899 года, храм был освящен. Церемонию провел митрополит Антоний вместе с отцом Иоанном Кронштадтским.

В мае 1935 года церковь была закрыта и отдана под склад. Последний настоятель протоиерей Василий Васильевич Медведский был расстрелян. Во время войны в здание попал снаряд, и оно сильно пострадало от пожара, архитектурный декор и внутреннее убранство были утрачены.

Храм возвращен верующим в 1991 году, затем восстановлен.