Famous building

Grammar school and real school F.F. Bychkova - Ya.G. Gurevich

Address

Ligovsky pr., 1 / Nekrasova st., 43

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1st third of the 19th century, 1875 (reconstruction)

Architects

V.I. Tokarev, A.D. Schilling (reconstruction)

Style

Eclecticism

The building was built in the first third of the 19th century near the basins of the Ligovsky Canal, which delivered drinking water from the League river (now Duderhofka) to the center of St. Petersburg. In the second half of the 19th century, the canal was visited and Ligovskaya Street was laid along its former channel (Ligovsky Prospect since 1956).

In the 1830-1850s there was a one-story house of the Artillery Department. In 1870, it housed a private male gymnasium and a real school for the court adviser Fedor Fedorovich Bychkov. In 1875, he sold the house to the gold miners Sibiryakov, who built it on another two floors.

In 1883, Yakov Grigorievich Gurevich acquired the gymnasium and the Bychkova real school. He made the gymnasium one of the best educational institutions in Russia. Here studied Nikolai Gumilev, Igor Stravinsky, Konstantin Vaginov, taught the ancient languages Innokenty Annensky.

Gymnasium lasted until 1918. In the Soviet years, the building housed a school, then a pedagogical school, an industrial enterprise, residential apartments. Today, there is a business center.

Достопримечательность

Гимназия и реальное училище Ф.Ф. Бычкова – Я.Г. Гуревича

Адрес

Лиговский пр., 1 / ул. Некрасова, 43

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1-я треть XIX века, 1875 (реконструкция)

Архитектор

В.И. Токарев, А.Д. Шиллинг (реконструкция)

Стиль

Эклектика

Здание было построено в первой трети XIX века у бассейнов Лиговского канала, доставлявшего питьевую воду из реки Лиги (ныне Дудергофка) в центр Петербурга. Во второй половине XIX века канал засылали и по его бывшему руслу проложили Лиговскую улицу (с 1956 года – Лиговский проспект).

В 1830-1850-х годах здесь стоял одноэтажный дом Артиллерийского департамента. В 1870 году в нем разместились частная мужская гимназия и реальное училище надворного советника Федора Федоровича Бычкова. В 1875 году он продал дом золотопромышленникам Сибиряковым, которые надстроили его еще двумя этажами.

В 1883 году гимназию и реальное училище Бычкова приобрел Яков Григорьевич Гуревич. Он сделал гимназию одним из лучших учебных заведений России. Здесь учились Николай Гумилев, Игорь Стравинский, Константин Вагинов, преподавал древние языки Иннокентий Анненский.

Гимназия просуществовала до 1918 года. В советские годы в здании располагалась школа, затем педагогическое училище, промышленное предприятие, жилые квартиры. Сегодня здесь находится бизнес-центр.