Famous building

House of K.I. Kapustin

Address

Fontanka Emb., 159

Category

Famous buildings

Years of foundation

1907–1909

Architects

A.F. Bubyr

Style

Northern Art Nouveau

An apartment house on the corner of Fontanka and Klimov Pereulok, near the Egyptian bridge, is considered a pearl of the Northern Modern style. It stands out with its silhouette, numerous turrets, bay windows, and balconies. The house was built for the construction contractor Kapustin.

Konstantin Kapustin is a hereditary honorary citizen of St. Petersburg. He was born in 1879 and graduated from the Institute of Civil Engineers. Having decided to rebuild the house 159, he commissioned this work for his classmate, the famous architect Alexei Bubyr.

The site was located among various non-representative buildings. Alexei Bubyr decided to create a house-monument, which would be able to "hold" around itself this vast and diverse space. Designed for perception from afar, the house is decidedly large, there is little architectural decoration - the idea of the building is to become the personification of a shelter protecting both from bad weather and life's misfortunes in our northern regions.

In the courtyard of the house, the architect provided a garage, a rarity for that time. Konstantin Kapustin was an active figure in Russian motorism, he participated in many motorsport competitions, including one of the first races from Luga to St. Petersburg in July 1901.

Достопримечательность

Дом К.И. Капустина

Адрес

наб. р. Фонтанки, 159 /Климов пер., 9

Год постройки

1907–1909 годы

Архитектор

А.Ф. Бубырь

Стиль

северный модерн

Доходный дом на углу Фонтанки и Климова переулка, возле Египетского моста, считается жемчужиной стиля северный модерн. Он выделяется своим силуэтом, многочисленными башенками, эркерами и балконами. Построен дом был для строительного подрядчика Капустина.

Константин Капустин  – потомственный почетный гражданин Петербурга. Он родился в 1879 году и окончил  Институт гражданских инженеров. Задумав заново отстроить дом 159, он поручил эту работу своему однокурснику, известному архитектору Алексею Бубырю.

Участок был расположен среди разновысотных и непрезентабельных строений. Алексей Бубырь решил создать дом-монумент, который бы сумел «держать» вокруг себя всё это обширное и разношерстное пространство. Рассчитанный на восприятие издалека, дом решен крупно, здесь мало архитектурного декора — идея здания в том, чтобы в наших северных краях  стать олицетворением крова, защищающего и от непогоды, и от жизненных невзгод.  

Во дворе дома архитектор предусмотрел гараж, редкость для того времени. Константин Капустин был активным деятелем российского автомобилизма, он участвовал во многих соревнованиях по автоспорту, в том числе в одной из первых автогонок Луга – Петербург в июле 1901 года.