Famous building

The apartment house of Myasnikov ("Tuchka")

Address

Tuchkov per., 17/20

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1840, 1898-1901

Architects

E.I. Gelman (reconstruction)

The house on the corner of the Makarov and Tuchkov Lane embankments does not externally stand out for special architectural advantages, but it is interesting for its history. It was built in 1840 for the breeder I.S. Myasnikov (the name of the architect did not reach us). In 1898-1901, a three-story building on the side of Tuchkov Lane was built on the fourth floor according to the project of E.I. Gelman.

In 1912-1914, in this house, in apartment 29, there lived a young couple of poets - Anna Akhmatova and Nikolai Gumilev. Their son, the future prominent historian Lev Gumilyov, was swarming here. This is reminded of by a plaque at the end of the building.

Gumilyov and Akhmatova affectionately called their appartment "Tuchka". As Akhmatova recalls the book, “Leaves from the Diary,” “it was just the student room of Nikolai Stepanovich, where there was nothing to sit on”.

In the same house in the spring of 1891 lived V.I. Ilyich Ulyanov (Lenin) when he took exams at the law faculty of St. Petersburg University. I wonder if Gumilyov knew about this when on the night of August 26, 1921 he was taken to execution for participating in the White Guard conspiracy?

Also, in different years, artists Vasily Vereshchagin and Evgeny Lansere lived in this house.

Достопримечательность

Доходный дом Мясникова («Тучка»)

Адрес

Тучков пер., 17/20

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1840, 1898-1901

Архитектор

Е.И. Гельман (реконструкция)

Дом на углу набережной Макарова и Тучкова переулка внешне не выделяется особыми архитектурными достоинствами, но интересен своей историей. Он был построен в 1840 году для заводчика И.С. Мясникова (имя архитектора до нас не дошло). В 1898-1901 годах трехэтажное здание со стороны Тучкова переулка надстроили четвертым этажом по проекту Е.И. Гельмана.

В 1912–1914 годах в этом доме, в квартире 29, жила молодая пара поэтов — Анна Ахматова и Николай Гумилев. Здесь роился их сын, будущий выдающийся историк Лев Гумилев. Об этом напоминает мемориальная доска на торце здания.

Свою квартиру Гумилев и Ахматова ласково называли «Тучкой». Как вспоминает Ахматова в книге «Листки из дневника», «это была просто студенческая комната Николая Степановича, где и сидеть-то было не на чем». Однако «на Тучке» часто собирались поэты Серебряного века, и, по некоторым свидетельствам, именно в этих стенах зародилось литературное направление акмеизм. 

В этом же доме весной 1891 года жил В.И. Ильич Ульянов (Ленин), когда сдавал экзамены на юридическом факультете Санкт-Петербургского университета. Интересно, знал ли об этом Гумилев, когда в ночь на 26 августа 1921 года его вели на расстрел за участие в белогвардейском заговоре?

Также в разные годы в этом доме жили художники Василий Верещагин и Евгений Лансере.