Famous building

Apartment building of Chubakov

Address

Bolshoy pr. P.S., 5/2

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1910

Architects

V.I. Van der Gucht

Style

Modern

The six-story house on the corner of the Bolshoi pr. of Petrograd side and Zverinskaya street was built in 1909-1910 on the site of a wooden house where the Voronezh tavern was located. The apartment building project was made by architect V.I. Van der Gucht for honorary citizen V.G. Chubakov.

The Art Nouveau building is distinguished by a rounded corner, forming the appearance of the quarter and the beginning of Zverinskaya Street. Its semicircular part is completed with a parapet with vases and an elegant lattice. Arched showcase windows on the ground floor give the house a monumentality.

From 1922 to 1944, the poet Nikolai Tikhonov lived here, as a memorial plaque on the facade resembles. His apartment was one of the centers of literary Leningrad. There were gathering Vladimir Mayakovsky and Veniamin Kaverin, Olga Forsh and Alexander Fadeev, Olga Berggolz and many other writers. 

 
In one of the front houses, historical stained-glass windows and stucco work have recently been restored - they were restored at their own expense by a resident of the house, tour guide Daniil Yagirsky.

Достопримечательность

Доходный дом Чубакова

Адрес

Большой пр. П.С., 5/2

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1910

Архитектор

В.И. Ван-дер-Гюхт

Стиль

Модерн

Шестиэтажный дом на углу Большого пр. Петроградской стороны и Зверинской улицы был построен в 1909–1910 годах на месте деревянного дома, где располагался трактир «Воронеж». Проект доходного дома составил архитектор В.И. Ван-дер-Гюхт для почетного гражданина В.Г. Чубакова.

Здание в стиле модерн выделяется скругленным углом, формирующим облик квартала и начало Зверинской улицы. Его полукруглая часть завершена парапетом с вазами и изящной решеткой. Арочные витринные окна первого этажа придают дому монументальность.

С 1922 по 1944 год здесь жил поэт Николай Тихонов, о чем напоминает мемориальная доска на фасаде. Его квартира была одним из центров литературного Ленинграда. Здесь бывали Владимир Маяковский и Вениамин Каверин, Ольга Форш и Александр Фадеев, Ольга Берггольц и многие другие писатели.

В одной из парадных дома недавно были восстановлены исторические витражи и лепнина – их за свой счет отреставрировал житель дома, экскурсовод Даниил Ягирский.