Church

Chapel of the Trinity Life-giving at the Research Institute of Hematology and Transfusiology

Address

2nd Sovetskaya st., 16 (in the yard)

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1892-1893

Architect

V.R. Kurzanov

The Chapel of the Life-Giving Trinity in the Nativity part of St. Petersburg was erected at the Holy Trinity Community of Sisters of Mercy. Founded in 1844, this community became the first charitable community not only in the city, but throughout the country. The house housed a department of nurses, a women's hospital, a boarding school, a shelter, a correctional school and a department of penitents. Later, an almshouse for terminally ill patients appeared.

Nicholas I allocated funds for the construction of a house church; it was consecrated on September 5, 1844.

In 1889–1891, the community buildings were rebuilt according to the project of architect V.R. Kurzanova, and they acquired the appearance that has survived to this day. The former hospital church, again consecrated on January 25, 1892, was transferred to the building of the Women's Hospital, on the third floor, under the bell tower, along with the icons.

The community ceased to exist in 1920, but the hospital continued to operate. In 1931, the first blood transfusion station in the city was opened at its base. Today it is the Russian Research Institute of Hematology and Transfusiology. In 2005, the temple was returned to believers.

Храм

Часовня Троицы Живоначальной при НИИ Гематологии и трансфузиологии

Адрес

ул. 2-я Советская, 16 (во дворе)

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1892-1893

Архитектор

В.Р. Курзанов

Часовня Троицы Живоначальной в Рождественской части Санкт-Петербурга была возведена при Свято-Троицкой общине сестер милосердия. Основанная в 1844 году, эта община стала первой благотворительной общиной не только в городе, но и во всей стране. В доме располагались отделение сестер милосердия, женская больница, пансион, приют, исправительная школа и отделение кающихся. Позже появилась и богадельня для неизлечимых больных.

Николай I выделил средства на устройство домовой церкви, ее освятили 5 сентября 1844 года.

В 1889–1891 годах здания общины перестроили по проекту архитектора В.Р. Курзанова, и они приобрели облик, сохранившийся до наших дней. В здание женской больницы, на третий этаж, под колокольню, была перенесена вместе с иконами прежняя больничная церковь, вновь освященная 25 января 1892 году.

Община прекратила свое существование в 1920 году, но больница продолжала работать. В 1931 году на ее базе открыта первая в городе станция переливания крови. Сегодня это Российский НИИ гематологии и трансфузиологии. В 2005 году  храм был возвращен верующим.