Church

Church of the Holy Martyr Julian of Tarsus

Address

Pushkin, Kadetsky Boulevard, 7

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1895—1899

Architect

V.N. Kuritsyn, S.A. Danini

Style

Pseudorussian

The Church of the Holy Martyr Julian of Tarsus (Cuirassier or Julian Church) is an Orthodox church in the city of Pushkin (Tsarskoe Selo). This is the former regimental temple of His Majesty's Cuirassier Life Guards Regiment of the Russian Imperial Guard. The current building of the temple in the pseudo-Russian style was erected in 1895-1899. designed by architects V.N. Kuritsyn and S.A. Danini.

The history of the regimental marching church of the Cuirassier regiment dates back to the beginning of the 19th century; the first mentions of it date back to the war of 1812. In 1832, the Cuirassier regiment arrived in Tsarskoe Selo. For military services, the north side-altar of St. Sophia Cathedral was assigned. By the end of the 19th century, a need arose for a separate regimental church.

The temple was built in memory of the wedding of Emperor Nicholas II and Empress Alexandra Feodorovna, which took place on November 14, 1894. The foundation stone of the temple was completed on September 29, 1895. The church was built for 4 years - the money for its construction was donated by a well-known benefactor, a merchant of the first guild, Ilya Kirillovich Savinkov.

On December 31, 1899, the full consecration of the temple took place, in which Protopresbyter A.A.Zhelobovsky, Archpriest John of Kronstadt and the clergy of Tsarskoye Selo participated, the imperial family was present.

The temple is dedicated to the martyr Julian of Tarsus, who gave his life for the faith. According to legend, during the reign of the Roman emperor Diocletian, they tried to persuade the Christian Julian to return to paganism, and in revenge for his refusal they sewed him into a bag with snakes and threw him into the sea ...

The red-brick church, decorated in the spirit of the Yaroslavl churches of the 16th – 17th centuries, combines elegance, picturesqueness, plasticity with economy and rationalism. The unplastered brickwork, which contrasts with the granite plinth, avoids frequent facade renovations. At the same time, decorative ornaments masterfully laid out of bricks decorate the temple walls.

On the sides of the central drum are refined drums of the side domes, and the strongly protruding altar apse is encircled by a half-ring of slender keeled arches. In front of the entrance to the temple, a solid bell tower rises, completed with a high hipped roof.

Two side-chapels were built in the church: the upper one - in honor of St. Julian of Tarsus, and the lower (cave) - in honor of the holy prophet Elijah. The merchant Ilya Savinkov and his wife were buried in the crypt of the lower church.

In Soviet times, the temple was used for household needs, in the early 1990s it was returned to believers. In the mid-2010s, the restoration of the external appearance of the church was completed, restoration work in the interiors continues.

***

The Church of the Holy Martyr Julian of Tarsus is included in the excursion program of the city project "Open City". This is a joint project of the St. Petersburg City Branch of the All-Russian Society for the Protection of Historical and Cultural Monuments and the Committee for State Control, Use and Protection of Historical and Cultural Monuments. It is implemented with the support of the Government of St. Petersburg, thanks to which all participants can attend the events free of charge.

The mission of the Open City project is to acquaint residents and guests of St. Petersburg with the unique cultural heritage of our city, to open the doors of the most beautiful mansions, palaces, estates, iconic structures of industrial architecture, which were previously inaccessible to the public.

Any citizen of Russia registered on the project's website can attend the Open City events. The number of activities includes different types of excursions (walking, bus, cycling), walks on retro transport, historical quests, lectures on the history, architecture and culture of St. Petersburg, master classes for children and adults.

Храм

Церковь святого мученика Иулиана Тарсийского

Адрес

г. Пушкин, Кадетский бульвар, 7

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1895—1899 гг

Архитектор

В.Н. Курицын, С.А. Данини

Стиль

псевдорусский

Церковь святого мученика Иулиана Тарсийского (Кирасирская или Иулиановская церковь) — православный храм в городе Пушкине (Царском Селе). Это бывший полковой храм Кирасирского Его Величества лейб-гвардии полка Русской императорской гвардии. Нынешнее здание храма в псевдорусском стиле возведено в 1895—1899 гг. по проекту архитекторов В.Н. Курицына и С.А. Данини.

История полковой походной церкви Кирасирского полка восходит к началу XIX века, первые упоминания о ней относятся к войне 1812 года. В 1832 году Кирасирский полк прибыл в Царское Село. Для служб военным назначили северный придел Софийского собора. К концу XIX века возникла необходимость в отдельном полковом храме.

Храм возведен в память о бракосочетании императора Николая II и императрицы Александры Федоровны, состоявшемся 14 ноября 1894 года. Закладка храма была совершена (17) 29 сентября 1895 года. Строительство заняло 4 года — деньги на него пожертвовал известный благотворитель, купец первой гильдии Илья Кириллович Савинков.

(19) 31 декабря 1899 года состоялось полное освящение храма, в котором участвовал протопресвитер А. А. Желобовский, протоиерей Иоанн Кронштадтский и духовенство Царского Села, присутствовала императорская семья.

Храм посвящен мученику Иулиану Тарсийскому, отдавшему жизнь за веру. По преданию, во время правления римского императора Диоклетиана, христианина Иулиана пытались склонить к возвращению в язычество, а в отместку за отказ зашили в мешок со змеями и бросили в море…

Краснокирпичный храм, оформленный в духе ярославских церквей XVI–XVII веков, сочетает нарядность, живописность, пластичность с экономичностью, рационализмом. Не покрытая штукатуркой кирпичная кладка, контрастирующая с гранитным цоколем, позволяет избегать частых ремонтов фасадов. В то же время виртуозно выложенные из кирпича декоративные орнаменты служат украшением храмовых стен.

По сторонам центрального барабана установлены утонченные барабаны боковых главок, а сильно выступающая алтарная апсида обведена полукольцом стройных килевидных арок. Перед входом в храм возвышается основательная колокольня, завершенная высокой шатровой кровлей.

В церкви было устроено два придела: верхний – в честь святого Иулиана Тарсийского, а нижний (пещерный) – в честь святого пророка Илии. В склепе нижнего храма был похоронен купец Илья Савинков с супругой.

В советское время храм использовался для хозяйственных нужд, в начале 1990-х годов был возвращен верующим. В середине 2010-х годов завершена реставрация внешнего облика церкви, продолжаются восстановительные работы в интерьерах.

***

Церковь святого мученика Иулиана Тарсийского входит в экскурсионную программу городского проекта «Открытый город». Это совместный проект Санкт-Петербургского городского отделения Всероссийского общества охраны памятников истории и культуры и Комитета по государственному контролю, использованию и охране памятников истории и культуры. Реализуется при поддержке Правительства Санкт-Петербурга, благодаря чему все участники могут посещать мероприятия бесплатно.

Миссия проекта «Открытый город» — познакомить жителей и гостей Санкт-Петербурга с уникальным культурным наследием нашего города, открыть двери самых красивых особняков, дворцов, усадеб, знаковых сооружений промышленной архитектуры, которые раньше были недоступны для широкого посещения.

Посещать мероприятия «Открытого города» может любой гражданин России, записавшийся на сайте проекта. В число мероприятий входят разные виды экскурсий (пешеходные, автобусные, велосипедные), прогулки на ретротранспорте, исторические квесты, лекции по истории, архитектуре и культуре Санкт-Петербурга, мастер-классы для детей и взрослых.