Church

Church of the Merciful Mother of God in Galernaya Gavan

Address

Bolshoy ave. of the Vasilievsky Island, 100

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1889—1898

Architect

V. A. Kosyakov

Style

neo-Byzantine

Active Orthodox church

The church in the name of “The Merciful” icon of the Mother of God was built in memory of the coronation of Alexander III. Despite the fact that this church with a large dome was larger and more majestic than the wooden Troitskaya church in Gavan which has not remained to our days, it, nevertheless, was subordinated to the latter until 1923.

In 1887, the project of a new church was approved. Its authors were architect V.A. Kosyakov and engineer D.K. Prussak. Works began in 1888 starting with the construction of the temporary chapel, where the icon of the Merciful Mother of God, brought from Athos, was installed. The icon gave the name of the future church. In 1894, crosses were installed on the domes.

The new church of the “The Merciful” icon of the Mother of God became the key landmark in the district. The stone five-headed church was designed in the style of the churches of ancient Byzantium and resembles the St. Sophia Cathedral in Constantinople, to some extent. The height of the church from the earth surface to the foot of the cross on the main dome reaches 42 m.

In 1903, the bell tower was decorated with a golden crown in memory of the coronation of Alexander III. A metal fence on a granite pedestal was installed along the road, it has not survived to this day. A garden was laid out around the church. After the consecration of the church, a charitable societyopened there, operating a school for orphans, a children's shelter and an almshouse.

In 1932, the church was closed and handed over to the diving training group. The building was equipped with a swimming pool, training equipment was installed. The northern side-chapel housed a museum exhibit devoted to the rescue equipment of divers.

In 2006, the parish of the church was registered. In 2012, it was officially returned to the church. Today, restoration works on the church are underway.

Храм

Церковь Милующей Божией Матери в Галерной Гавани

Адрес

Большой проспект Васильевского острова, 100

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1889—1898

Архитектор

В. А. Косяков

Стиль

неовизантийский

Церковь во имя иконы Божией Матери «Милующая» построена в память коронования Александра III. Этот храм с большим куполом был крупнее и величественнее ныне утраченной деревянной Троицкой церкви в Гавани, но, тем не менее, подчинялся ей до 1923 года.

В 1887 году был утвержден проект новой  церкви, его авторами стали архитектор В. А. Косяков и инженер Д. К. Пруссак. Работы начались в 1888 году со строительства временной часовни, где установили икону Милующей Божией Матери, привезенную с Афона. Икона дала название будущей церкви. В 1894 году на куполах установили кресты.

Новый Храм иконы Божией Матери «Милующая» стал доминантой района. Каменная церковь, увенчанная пятиглавием, спроектирована в стиле храмов древней Византии и немного напоминает Софийский собор в Константинополе. Высота церкви от поверхности земли до подножия креста на главном куполе достигает 42 м.

В 1903 году колокольню увенчали золотой короной – в память коронования Александра III. Вдоль дороги была сооружена металлическая ограда на гранитном цоколе, ныне утраченная. Вокруг храма разбили сад. После освящения при церкви было открыто благотворительное общество, содержащее школу для сирот, детский приют и богадельню.

В 1932 году храм закрыли и передали учебному отряду подводного плавания. В здании был оборудован бассейн и установлено тренировочное оборудование. В северном приделе расположили музейную экспозицию, посвященную спасательному снаряжению подводников.

В 2006 году был зарегистрирован приход храма, в 2012 году храм официально возвращен церкви. В настоящее время в церкви ведутся реставрационные работы.