Famous building

Former cinema "Moscow"

Address

Old-Peterhof pr., 6

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1936–1939

Architects

L.M. Hidekel

Style

Stalinist neoclassicism

On April 21, 1939 in Leningrad on Gaza Avenue (Staro-Petergofsky) the Moskva cinema was opened - the first three-hall cinema in the USSR. During its construction, the Church of St. Catherine by the architect Konstantin Ton was demolished.

Cinema "Moscow" was built in the style of Stalinist neoclassicism by the architect Lazar Khidekel. The total area of the building is more than two thousand square meters; it has a complex internal architecture, wide flights of stairs and spacious halls. The facade of the cinema is faced with natural granite and marble, and the upper part is crowned with a sculptural frieze. It was made by the sculptor Igor Krestovsky, the son of the writer Vsevolod Krestovsky, author of the novel "Petersburg Slums".

In her book Silhouettes of Time, Avgusta Mikhailovna Sarayeva-Bondar recalls the sculptor's words that there are no fictional figures on the frieze, although the author did not strive for portrait resemblance. “So, the figure of a woman-sculptor was inspired by the appearance of Yanson-Manizer, the colorful figure of Samokhvalov brought me to the painting bench, the ballet plot was dictated by three lovely Auroras from The Sleeping Beauty — Ulanova, Vecheslova and Dudinskaya. The composition "At the Piano" is dedicated to the beautiful voice of Preobrazhenskaya. A gallery of pre-war representatives of Leningrad art opens up in front of the audience ... And this sculptural story ends with a cameraman with a camera and a man with a camera in his hands, ”said Igor Krestovsky.

The cinema was closed in the 1990s, the building was rented out to a commercial company for many years, then it was empty. At the same time, it is recognized as an object of cultural heritage of regional significance,

In 2008, the city sold the monument at auction. In 2016, a project was approved for the reconstruction of the building of the former cinema "Moscow" - it was planned to place a multifunctional center in it. But so far, the work has been mothballed for an indefinite period.

Достопримечательность

Бывший кинотеатр «Москва»

Адрес

Старо-Петергофский пр., 6

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1936–1939

Архитектор

Л.М. Хидекель

Стиль

Сталинский неоклассицизм

21 апреля 1939 года в Ленинграде на проспекте Газа (Старо-Петергофском) был открыт кинотеатр «Москва» — первый в СССР трехзальный кинотеатр. При его строительстве была снесена церковь Святой Екатерины работы архитектора Константина Тона.

Кинотеатр «Москва» был построен в стиле сталинский неоклассицизм по проекту архитектора Лазаря Хидекеля. Общая площадь здания составляет более двух тысяч квадратных метров, оно имеет сложную внутреннюю архитектуру, широкие лестничные марши и просторные холлы. Фасад кинотеатра облицован естественным гранитом и мрамором, а верхнюю часть его венчает скульптурный фриз. Его выполнил скульптор Игорь Крестовский, сын писателя Всеволода Крестовского, автора романа «Петербургские трущобы».

В своей книге «Силуэты времени» Августа Михайловна Сараева-Бондарь вспоминает слова скульптора о том, что на фризе нет вымышленных фигур, хотя автор не стремился к портретному сходству. «Так, фигура женщины-скульптора навеяна обликом Янсон-Манизер, к живописному станку меня подвела колоритная фигура Самохвалова, балетный сюжет продиктован тремя прелестными Аврорами из «Спящей красавицы» —- Улановой, Вечесловой и Дудинской. Прекрасному голосу Преображенской посвящена композиция «У рояля». Перед зрителями как бы открывается галерея довоенных представителей ленинградского искусства... И завершают эту скульптурную повесть, кинооператор с камерой и человек с фотоаппаратом в руках», — рассказывал Игорь Крестовский.

Кинотеатр был закрыт в 1990-е годы, много лет здание сдавалось в аренду коммерческой компании, затем пустовало. При этом оно признано объектом культурного наследия регионального значения. В 2008 году город продал памятник с торгов. В 2016 был согласован проект реконструкции здания бывшего кинотеатра «Москва» – в нем планировалось разместить многофункциональный центр. Но пока что работы законсервированы на неопределенный срок.