Palace

The Bronze palace of Chancellor Bezborodko

Address

Pochtampskaya st., 7

Monday

Day off

Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Weekend

10:30 – 18:00

Timetable

Tuesday to Saturday - from 10.00 to 18.00, closed on every last Thursday of the month

Years of foundation

1783

Architects

J. Quarenghi, N. A. Lyubimov

Ticket price

adults 200 rubles. preferential 100 rubles

The Bronze palace was built by the project of architect Giacomo Quarenghi for one of the closest associates of Catherine II, Duke Alexander A. Bezborodko.  In 1782 he became the head of the post service. In 1797 he became Chancellor of the Russian Empire.

In 1781 Bezborodko bought two adjacent sites with separately standing buildings for the construction of the palace. Architect G.Quarenghi completely changed the volume-planning solution of the those buildings. He united them with a central wing and built them up one floor. The facades of the palace have acquired strict classical forms.

The construction works of the building lasted for 16 years. In 1792 the  Duke acquired a large number of paintings and built a special gallery to place them. The palace amazed its contemporaries with exterior decoration and grandeur of interiors, collections of European paintings, sculptures, bronzes, porcelains, and also unique furniture. The famous collection of black bronzes gave the name to the building - "The Bronze Palace".

The design of the gallery entailed other alterations in the building. Avant Hall was built in the northern wing of the building, Corner dance hall - in the west. In 1797 the construction of the Grand Main Hall began. The Hall has survived to this day with all the features of the architectural composition created by
G.Quarenghi.

After the death of the Chancellor, the palace was inherited by his brother, Count Ilya A. Bezborodko. Later it was passed to his widow, Anna Ivanovna. In 1824 the "Bronze Palace" was inherited by the niece of the Duke, Lyubov Ilinichna Kusheliyeva. The Kusheliev family lived abroad, thus, most of the palace's premises were rented.

By decree of Emperor Nicholas I in 1829 the palace was purchased by the treasury and housed the Postal Department. The palace rooms were adapted to the needs of the post office, which later became the postal and telegraph service. In the 1870s another reconstruction of the building was carried out by the project and designs of architect N.A. Lyubimov. The external appearance of the palace has changed. The facade decoration has been redesigned in a fashion of that times and remained practically unchanged until the end of the XX century.

Since 1924, the building has been home to the Museum of People’s Communications. In 1974, museum expositions were closed for visiting and demolished due to the emergency condition of the palace,. Since 2003 the A.S. Popov Central Museum of Communications named is located here.

Архитектурный ансамбль

Бронзовый дворец канцлера Безбородко

Адрес

Почтамтская улица, 7

Понедельник

Выходной

Вторник, Среда, Четверг, Пятница, Выходные дни

10:30 – 18:00

Расписание работы

Работа кассы и прием посетителей прекращаются за час до закрытия музея

Год постройки

1783

Архитекторы

Дж. Кваренги, Н. А. Любимов

Стиль

Классицизм

Стоимость билетов

Взрослые – 250 руб.; школьники, студенты, пенсионеры – 100 руб.; дошкольники – бесплатно

Бронзовый дворец построен по проекту архитектора Дж. Кваренги для ближайшего сподвижника Екатерины II, князя Александра Андреевича Безбородко. В 1782 году он возглавил почтовое ведомство, а в 1797 году стал канцлером Российской империи.

В 1781 году Безбородко купил под строительство дворца два смежных участка с отдельно стоящими строениями. Архитектор Дж. Кваренги полностью изменил объемно-планировочное решение имевшихся построек: объединил здания центральным флигелем и надстроил их на один этаж. Фасады дворца приобрели строгие классические формы.

Обустройство здания продолжалось в течение 16 лет. В 1792 году князь приобрел большое количество картин и построил специальную галерею для их размещения. Дворец поражал современников наружной отделкой и великолепием интерьеров, коллекциями европейской живописи, скульптуры, бронз, фарфора, а также уникальной мебели. Знаменитая коллекция чёрных бронз дала название зданию — «Бронзовый дворец».

Устройство галереи повлекло за собой другие переделки в здании. Были построены Аванзал в северном флигеле, Угловой танцевальный зал — в западном. В 1797 году началось строительство Большого Парадного зала, который сохранился до наших дней со всеми особенностями архитектурной композиции Дж. Кваренги.

После смерти канцлера дворец перешёл к его брату, графу Илье Андреевичу Безбородко, а затем к вдове брата, Анне Ивановне. В 1824 году «Бронзовый дворец» унаследовала племянница светлейшего князя, Любовь Ильинична Кушелёва. Семья Кушелёвых жила за границей, поэтому большая часть помещений дворца сдавалась внаём.

По указу императора Николая I в 1829 году дворец был приобретен в казну для размещения в нем Почтового департамента. Дворцовые помещения приспосабливались к нуждам сначала почтового, а затем почтово-телеграфного ведомства. В 1870-е годы была проведена еще одна перестройка здания, проект которой разработал архитектор Н. А. Любимов. Изменился внешний облик дворца — отделка фасадов была переделана в соответствии с господствующим тогда вкусом и оставалась практически без изменений до конца XX века.

В 1924 году в Бронзовом дворце открылся Музей Народной связи. В 1974 году в связи с аварийным состоянием дворца музейные экспозиции были закрыты для посетителей и разобраны. С 2003 года здесь расположен Центральный музей связи имени А. С. Попова.