Guided tour of the Smolny Cathedral

Temple architecture, magnificent interiors and the ascent to the belfry

Book that excursion

Smolny Cathedral tours

Duration
1 hr 20 min
Working days
sat, sun
Opening hours
12.00, 13.00, 14.30, 16.00
Price
200 rub. *
Recommended donation: 200 rubles. - excursion around the cathedral, 150 rubles. - ascent to the belfry.

What is this excursion?

You will get acquainted with the architecture of the Cathedral and the Smolny Monastery complex, learn about the history of the area on the bend of the Neva River. Inside the temple, the guide of the Smolny Cathedral will tell about the interior of the temple, as well as about the history of the cathedral, the monastery, charitable and educational institutions, including the Educational Society for Noble Maidens. At the end of the excursion, you can climb the highest observation deck in the center of St. Petersburg - the cathedral belfry.

The entrance to the belfry of the Smolny Cathedral is open every day from 08:00 to 20:00. From here, from a height of about 50 meters, a stunning view of the entire center of St. Petersburg opens up - the elegant festive city sparkling with numerous lights and garlands.

History and interiors of the most beautiful temple in St. Petersburg.
Climbing the belfry - the city center from a bird's eye view.
In summer - every day, no prior registration is required.
Excursion and pilgrimage service of the Smolny Cathedral.

Route and content of the tour

What can you expect?

The Resurrection Smolny Cathedral is part of the architectural ensemble of the Smolny Monastery. Until 2016, it was a concert venue for classical music, now it is a functioning Orthodox church.

The cathedral was consecrated in 1835, 87 years after the foundation stone was laid by Empress Elizabeth Petrovna in 1748.

The author of the project, the outstanding architect FB Rastrelli, created his creation in the Elizabethan Baroque style, but did not manage to complete it. The interior of the temple at the beginning of the nineteenth century was created by another famous architect - V.P. Stasov. The building was built in the lush Elizabethan Baroque style. The walls are painted soft blue, the domes are gray. In terms of the style of architecture, Smolny Cathedral looks more like a palace than a temple.

The temple received the status of a cathedral of all educational institutions in memory of Empress Maria Feodorovna. The cathedral was provided from the funds of the State Treasury and was assigned to the Department of Institutions of the Empress Maria, a parish from the residents of the nearby district was allocated to it.

For almost 90 years, divine services have been regularly held in the temple. An especially solemn service was celebrated on the day of St. Mary Magdalene, Equal to the Apostles, when the imperial family came to the temple, the heads and students of the city's female educational institutions gathered, including the first higher female educational institution in Russia - the Educational Society for Noble Maidens.

After the revolution, in 1922, the cathedral was closed. Regular services have been held in the temple since 2009. On January 25, 2016, the cathedral was handed over to the Russian Orthodox Church.

For up-to-date information on days and hours of excursions, visit the Smolny Cathedral website http://smolniy.cerkov.ru/

Important!

Themed excursions are available for groups by prior arrangement: "Saints and Shrines of the Smolny Cathedral", "Architecture of the Smolny Monastery", "History of the Resurrection Smolny Monastery", "Smolny Institute for Noble Maidens", "Christmas Petersburg", as well as educational quests for children.

You can sign up for excursions and quests by calling: 8 (961) 808 9738; 8 (911) 233-8957 and by email: info.smolniysobor@gmail.com.

+7 (961) 808-97-38
Book that excursion

Заказ экскурсии

Excursion:
Guided tour of the Smolny Cathedral

Храмовая архитектура, великолепные интерьеры и подъем на звонницу
Экскурсия по Смольному собору
Продолжительность
1 час 20 минут
Дни работы
сб, вс
Часы работы
12.00, 13.00, 14.30, 16.00
Цена
200 руб. *
Рекомендуемое пожертвование: 200 руб. — экскурсия по собору, 150 руб. — подъем на звонницу.

Что это за экскурсия?

Приглашаем вас в Воскресенский Смольный собор во время новогодних и рождественских праздников! Праздничные «Знакомства со Смольным собором» будут проходить с 31 декабря по 10 января в 12.00, 13.00, 14.30 и 16.00 часов. Запись не нужна.

Вы познакомитесь с архитектурой собора и комплекса Смольного монастыря, узнаете об истории местности на излучине реки Невы. Внутри храма экскурсовод Смольного собора расскажет об интерьере храма, а также об истории собора, монастыря, о благотворительных и учебных заведениях, в том числе – Воспитательном обществе благородных девиц. В заключение экскурсии Вы сможете подняться на самую высокую смотровую площадку в центре Санкт-Петербурга – соборную звонницу.

Вход на звонницу Смольного собора открыт каждый день с 08:00 до 20:00. Отсюда, с высоты около 50 метров, открывается потрясающий вид на весь центр Санкт-Петербурга — на нарядный праздничный город, сверкающий многочисленными огнями и гирляндами. 

 

 

Как забронировать?
По телефону
+7 (961) 808 9738
Он-лайн заказ
Заполнить форму

Воскресенский Смольный собор входит в состав архитектурного ансамбля Смольного монастыря. До 2016 года являлся концертной площадкой классической музыки, ныне – действующий православный храм.

Собор был освящен в 1835 году, через 87 лет после закладки, совершенной в 1748 году изволением императрицы Елизаветы Петровны.

Автор проекта, выдающийся зодчий Ф. Б. Растрелли, создавал свое творение в стиле елизаветинского барокко, но не успел завершить его. Интерьер храма в начале ХIХ века создал другой знаменитый архитектор – В. П. Стасов.  Здание построено в стиле пышного елизаветинского барокко. Стены покрашены в мягкий голубой цвет, купола — в серый. По стилю архитектуры Смольный собор больше напоминает дворец, нежели храм.

Храм получил статус собора всех учебных заведений в память императрицы Марии Федоровны. Собор обеспечивался из средств Государственного Казначейства и был приписан к Ведомству учреждений императрицы Марии, ему был выделен приход из жителей близлежащей округи.

Почти 90 лет в храме регулярно совершались богослужения. Особенно торжественной службой был отмечен день святой равноапостольной Марии Магдалины, когда в храм приезжала императорская фамилия, собирались начальницы и учащиеся женских учебных заведений города, в том числе первого высшего женского учебного заведения России – Воспитательного общества благородных девиц.

После революции, в 1922 году, собор был закрыт.  Регулярные богослужения проводятся в храме с 2009 года. 25 января 2016 года собор передан Русской православной церкви.

Актуальная информация по дням и часам проведения экскурсий — на сайте Смольного собора http://smolniy.cerkov.ru/

Важно знать!

По предварительному заказу для групп проводятся тематические экскурсии: «Святые и святыни Смольного собора», «Архитектура Смольного монастыря», «История Воскресенского Смольного монастыря», «Смольный институт благородных девиц», «Рождественский Петербург», а также детские образовательные квесты.

На экскурсии и квесты можно записаться по телефонам: 8 (961) 808 9738; 8 (911) 233-8957 и по электронной почте: info.smolniysobor@gmail.com

Место встречи: пл. Растрелли, 1

Заказ экскурсии

— количество человек *

По указанному номеру Вам перезвонит наш оператор

На указанный адрес придет подтверждение заказа и ссылка на оплату после звонка оператора

Я соглашаюсь на обработку моих данных

cогласитесь на обработку ваших данных